## **MEDIA RELEASE**

20 November 2017

## ELECTION RESULTS - RICE MARKETING BOARD FOR THE STATE OF NEW SOUTH WALES

STATE OF STA

The Rice Marketing Board for the State of New South Wales (RMB) is pleased to announce the election of John Bradford, Gillian Kirkup and Ian Mason to the Board.

**John Bradford** has been re-elected after joining the RMB in 2015 when former Chairman of SunRice Gerry Lawson retired. He is a rice grower from Deniliquin and brings an extensive knowledge of water issues and policies and the effects of the Basin Plan on the rice industry.

The Rice Marketing Board

Re-elected RMB member **Gillian Kirkup** offers over 16 years of Board experience on the RMB, SunRice and formerly on the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Limited Board. She is a fourth generation farmer based in the Leeton/Gogeldrie region and brings a focus on ensuring a rice industry that has the resilience to endure and prosper.

FOR THE STATE OF NEW SOUTH WALES

As well as being a committed rice grower **Ian Mason** brings over 20 years in rice policy, research and development, and advocacy on the Central Executive of the Ricegrowers' Association of Australia.

The RMB congratulates the elected members and welcomes them to the Board.

The RMB also farewells long-time rice industry leader Noel Graham, who did not seek re-election. Chairman Robyn Clubb recently commented: "Noel has been a stalwart of the rice industry and has made a very significant contribution over the past 16 years. His insightful and intelligent contributions and vast knowledge of the rice industry will be greatly missed. We thank him for his exemplary service to the rice growers of NSW and wish him well for the future."

The RMB is the regulatory authority that operates to obtain the best possible monetary return for NSW rice growers, by licensing Authorised Buyers and issuing the Sole and Exclusive Export Licence. Four Board members are nominated by the NSW Minister for Primary Industries and three are elected by rice growers, and usually serve a four year term.

The newly elected members' terms commence once the appointments are officially confirmed by the NSW Government.

CONTACT: Carol Chiswell, Board Secretary, Ph 02 6953 3200